Smart NanoMaterials 2021

Advances, Innovation and Applications

Hybride Online – Onsite Summit

7-10 December 2021

Submit abstract now

Notification of acceptance — 1 week from the submission day

Last Day to Submit 01.10.2021

Memories from previous events
Read more

École Nationale Supérieure
de Chimie de Paris

11, Rue Pierre et Marie Curie
Paris, France

Get directionsRead more about the venue

This vibrant, intellectually stimulating conference, organized by the top-notch young scientists from around the globe, delivers concentrated frontiers in science and technology of nanomaterials for real-world applications. The attendee gets the full depth and breadth of ideas exchange and networking, avoiding the confusion of a typical, overwhelmingly large, material-science conference. And all that – in a magical atmosphere of the pre-Christmas Paris.

Alexandre GumennikIndiana University, USA

A top conference! A rock-solid organization team. An excellent program. It’s nice, fun and very instructive. A must!

Jerome TignonSorbonne University & Ecole Normale Superieure, Paris, France

Great networking and a lot of wine!

Pavlos LagoudakisUniversity of Southampton & Scoltech, UK

What is the best scientific, social and scientifically social option for a mid-December?
The obvious answer is SNAIA – leading topical conference, which welcomes new ideas, promotes new collaborations, gives opportunities to young scientists, and… just lovely to attend. I go there 🥳 !

Pavel GinzburgTel Aviv University, Israel

An excellent interdisciplinary conference with top speakers and "intense" social program. Worth attending again!

Oleg YazyevEcole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne

SNAIA is an impressing conference with high level keynotes and invited speakers. Each year is a pleasure to attend Snaia in this very beautiful venue in the middle of Paris and to discuss with high level scientists.

Paolo BondavalliThales Research and Technology

I quite enjoyed the conference. The conference covered a broad range of topics in nanomaterials, and the interactions between people from different disciplines were very stimulating. I would like to thank the organizers for their excellent efforts.

Shanhui FanStanford University

From Smart Materials to Smart Things

The STEMM Smart Nanomaterials (SNAIA) Conference Series is a unique, established science-to-technology networking platform covering the most exciting emerging fields in smart technologies. It gives the opportunity to present to, share knowledge with, and establish links between leading experts from academia and industry.

This year, the 4th International SNAIA Conference is moving to a hybrid online-onsite format. Despite the current pandemic crisis, we are keeping our plans for the in-person part of SNAIA2021 in an unchanged format for now. The Government of France is currently enforcing extensive actions to protect the country and keep it safe, and for now we are optimistic that the situation will be resolved by December 2021. We will do everything in our power to ensure participants safety and provide extensive information as it arrives.

At the same time, we understand that many people may still be unable or uncertain about travel. Hence, in parallel, we will provide online streaming and interactive online participation for those who cannot attend the on-site format.

From fundamental research and development of new nanomaterials, to industrial implementation and testing:

Design of and Fundamental Research on Nanomaterials

Development of Fabrication and Synthesis Processes

Testing and Characterisation in Lab and Industrial Fab Environments

Road to Commercialisation and Implementation in the Market

Smart Materials for Real World Applications

Construction and Building

Medicine and Pharma


Smart Electronics


Fashion and Textile

Smart Decor – Home

Green Energy


Sport Products


Christian Lerminiaux

École Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris

Yury Kivshar

Nonlinear Physics Center, Australian National University, Australia

Che Ting Chan

Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Federico Capasso

Harvard University

Andrea Alu

City University of New York

Martin Wegener

Karlsruher Institut fur Technologie

Oleg Yazyev

Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Mikael Käll

Chalmers University of Technology

David Andrews

University of East Anglia

Akhlesh Lakhtakia

Pennsylvania State University

Carsten Rockstuhl

Karlsruher Institut für Technologie

Andrey Miroshnichenko

UNSW Canberra

Thomas Pertsch

Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Kobus Kuipers

TU Delft

Willie Padilla

Duke University

Helmut Ritsch

Innsbruck University

Andrey Sukhorukov

Australian National University

George Kyzas

International Hellenic University, Kavala, Greece

Ortwin Hess

Trinity College Dublin

Nicolas Bonod

CNRS, Aix Marseille Université, Centrale Marseille, Institut Fresnel

Mikhail Glazov

Ioffe institute

Isabelle Staude

Friedrich-Schiller-University Jena

Andrey Laurinenka

Technical University of Denmark

Silvia Giordany

Dublin City University

Vladimir Drachev


Igor Meglinski

Aston University

Andrey Evlyukhin

Leibniz Universität Hannover

Hong-Gyu Park

Korea University

Pavlos Lagoudakis

Skoltech, Southampton

Arseniy Kuznetsov

Institute of Material Research and Engineering (IMRE), A*STAR

Masayoshi Tonouchi

Osaka University

Pavel Ginzburg

Tel Aviv University

Andrea Fratalocchi

King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)

David Powell

University of New South Wales

Ivan Fernandez-Corbaton

Karlsruher Institut fur Technologie

Patrick Mounaix

University of Bordeaux

Mikhail Portnoi

Exeter University

Mona Jarrahi

University of California Los Angeles

Daria Smirnova

Australian National University

Ferruccio Renzoni

University College London

Fernando Moreno

Universidad de Cantabria

Alexander Shalin

ITMO University

Sergei Tarasenko

Ioffe Institute

Michel Menu

ITMO University

Vincent Detalle

Centre for Research and Restoration of the Museums of France (C2RMF)

Alexey Yulin

ITMO University

Victoria Babicheva

The University of New Mexico

Zubair Ahmad

Qatar University Young Scientists Center (QUYSC)

Andreas Tittl

LMU Munich

Mikhail Rybin

ITMO University, Ioffe Institute

Nahid Talebi

Christian Albrechts University in Kiel

Elena Anashkina

Institute of Applied Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences (IAP RAS)

Frank Setzpfandt

Institute of Applied Physics, Abbe Center of Photonics, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena

Andrey Gorodetsky

University of Birmigham/ITMO University

Jean-Paul Guillet

University of Bordeaux

Paolo Bondavalli

Thales Research and Technology

Alexander Gumennik

Indiana University

Alexey Bolshakov

St.Petersburg Research Academic University

Igor Rozhansky

Ioffe Institute

Olga Smolyanskaya

ITMO University

Boris Lukiyanchuk

Lomonosov Moscow State University

Jun Wei Wu

Southeast University, China

David Giovannacci

Laboratoire de Recherche des Monuments Historiques

Sergei Sirro

The State Russian Museum

Sponsors and partners


Chimie ParisTech
École Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris
11, rue Pierre et Marie Curie
Paris, France

Ligne B : station Luxembourg

Ligne 7 : stations Place Monge et Censier Daubenton
Ligne 10 : stations Cluny La Sorbonne, Maubert Mutualité et Cardinal Lemoine

Bus 21 et 27 : arrêt Saint-Jacques-Gay Lussac
Bus 47 : arrêt Monge
Bus 84 et 89 : arrêt Panthéon